Canada Visa

Philippines included in Canada expanded visa waiver program


Philippines included in Canada expanded visa waiver program: On Wednesday, Canada announced that 13 nations, including the Philippines, had been included in its extended visa-free travel program.

Visitors who have held a Canadian visa in the last ten years or who currently hold a valid United States non-immigrant visa can visit Canada for leisure or business by applying for an electronic travel authorization, or eTA, instead of a visa when flying to Canada, said Sean Fraser, Minister of Immigration, Refugees, and Citizenship.


“This exciting development means that more people from the Philippines can now embark on unforgettable adventures, explore our diverse landscapes, reunite with family and friends, and immerse themselves in our vibrant culture,” Fraser added.

Philippines included in Canada expanded visa waiver program
Philippines included in Canada expanded visa waiver program

“This expansion will not only improve travel convenience; it will also increase travel, tourism, and economic benefits, as well as strengthen our relationship with the Philippines.”

According to Canadian Foreign Minister Melanie Joly, the program also complements Canada’s Indo-Pacific Strategy, which intends to strengthen relations and invest in people-to-people ties between Canada and the Indo-Pacific region, including the Philippines.

Read More: Free Canada Work Visa 2023 – Easiest Way to Move

We’re making it easier for more people to visit Canada, whether they’re here for business, to explore the sites, or to meet family and friends. “Expanding the eTA program to include countries like the Philippines is also an important part of our Indo-Pacific Strategy, as we look to deepen our engagement in the region, strengthen people-to-people ties, and make travel to Canada easier, faster, and safer for everyone,” Joly said.

Antigua and Barbuda, Argentina, Costa Rica, Morocco, Panama, St. Kitts and Nevis, St. Lucia, St. Vincent and the Grenadines, Seychelles, Thailand, Trinidad and Tobago, and Uruguay are among the nations participating in the visa-waiver program.

Visa-free air travel will make it quicker, faster, and more economical for thousands of known Filipino tourists to visit Canada for up to six months for business or pleasure.

According to the Canadian Embassy, it will also assist promote greater travel, tourism, and international commerce between the two countries, as well as strengthen people-to-people and cultural ties.

“Our relationship with the Philippines is important to Canada.” With a well-established Filipino diaspora in Canada and an increasing number of Filipino students and tourists, we understand the importance of expanding and simplifying travel between our nations,” the embassy said.

Canadian officials utilize the eTA program to conduct light-touch pre-travel screening of air travelers. It costs CAN$7 to apply, and most applications are accepted immediately within minutes.

Travelers simply need a valid passport, a credit card, an email account, and an Internet connection to apply for an eTA.

The announcement was welcomed in Manila as “an important milestone and a striking indication” of Canada’s developing relationship and trust with the Philippines.

It also emphasizes the “great value it attributes to the Filipino community, which has contributed to its diversity and dynamism,” according to the statement.

“The new policy is expected to spur travel, stimulate more business opportunities, and foster greater interest in family reunification efforts,” stated the Department of Foreign Affairs in a statement.

Filipinos in Canada, where almost a million people of Filipino heritage work and live, constitute the country’s fourth-largest diaspora group.

People Also Ask

  • Is the Philippines visa exempt from Canada?

    Eligible travelers from these countries can benefit from the program and come to Canada without a visa beginning June 7, 2023, if they meet the following conditions: Argentina, Costa Rica, Morocco, Panama, the Philippines, St. Kitts and Nevis, St. Lucia, St. Vincent, and the Grenadines, Seychelles, and Thailand are among the countries represented.

  • What is the visa waiver program in the Philippines?

    The Visa Waiver Program (VWP) allows nationals of member countries to visit the United States for tourism or business (visitor [B] visa only) for stays of 90 days or less.

David Thomas

it is our pleasure to have David Thomas on our Guest Authors list. He is a top educationist and a renowned researcher with major publications in his field of interest. David Thomas won a total of 7 fully-funded scholarships to complete his academic career and also won numerous fundings for attending international academic conferences.

Related Articles

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Back to top button